> # Welcome to GameGrinOS v1.01 > # How can I help you? > # Press ` again to close
Hello… | Log in or sign up

XDefiant Launches Season One With Brand-new Overview Trailer — Everything You Need to Know

Ubisoft's free-to-play shooter XDefiant has officially launched to the masses, and now, after a while of celebrating in pre-season, the team is ready to take it up a notch.

Announced in a brand-new trailer, the Season 1 of XDefiant is finally here, making it the first update release with major changes since the game came out. In the two-minute overview trailer, we got to see a lot about what was included in Season 1 and what players can expect of the title throughout the course of the season.

First, let's talk a bit about the brand-new faction. We know that with each Season, Ubisoft intends to release a new faction that is inspired on their various franchises, and the newest one to join is Rainbow Six with GSK — GS Kommando! They come with a few signature abilities that will take you back to Rainbow Six times, including:

XDefiant Season 1 Overview Trailer 0 7 screenshot2

The Shock Wire,which allows the player to build a high-voltage perimeter, giving you the opportunity to use it as more zone control or strategically place it along escape routes and entry points.

ADS (Active Defense System), which gives the players the opportunity to shoot down incoming enemy explosives, another great defensive option for GS Kommando and those who seek to main them.

Flash Shield, which is GSK's ultimate, giving them an LED-studded shield that works as mobile cover for you and your team, making the player tanky and offering them both defensive and offensive capabilities.

XDefiant Season 1 Overview Trailer 0 18 screenshot2

And finally, GSK's passive is that they come equipped with a Hardhat, which reduces the damage of enemy headshots. A great option when facing against snipers and yet another great defensive opportunity for the new faction.

New playable characters isn't everything there is to Season 1 in XDefiant— there are three brand-new maps for players to explore and learn, giving you the opportunity to experience it for the first time alongside a slew of other players. No veteran advantages here, as everyone will have to learn the best places for cover, best offensive options, defensive routes, and more! You can now play in:

  • Clubhouse
  • Daytona
  • Rockefeller

XDefiant Season 1 Overview Trailer 0 32 screenshot3

Next up is the brand-new Arena mode that will be available. Though two modes are coming in the first XDefiant season, only one is available at launch: Capture the Flag. This iconic mode is present in a lot of games, and it's always a welcome and different approach to the usual capture and conquer game modes. Coordinate with your team to steal the flag or return it in a risky, solo-mission to be the hero everyone needed!

Likewise, the brand-new Bomb game mode will be making an appearance later on in the season. This was only mentioned in the Press Release for Season 1, as we know it will be coming soon within the season, but we don't know when and don't have exact ideas on what this game mode will entail. It's likely that it'll be reminiscent to those present in other shooters, like Valorant, but it's all speculation until Ubisoft confirms.

The new Battle Pass is available, giving players the opportunity to enjoy three free new weapons — the Assault Rifle LVOA-C, the L115 Sniper Rifle, and the Sawed-off Shotgun. This also comes with new additions to the Weapon Mastery Levels, where you can show your expertise with numerous armaments by getting unique skins. Mastery Level 4, Mastery Level 5, and Mastery Level 6 now exist named Titanium Violet, Titanium Azure, and Titanium Prisma respectively, giving you skins to show off your expertise with a weapon (and Prisma is gorgeous!).

XDefiant Season 1 Overview Trailer 1 24 screenshot2

Of course, there's also the paid Battle Pass, which will have a whopping 90 tiers full of cosmetics, skins, and more! Decorate your character and make it more "you", with weapon skins, faction skins, and more to be unlocked.

And finally, Ranked Play is officially here — you'll be able to partake in a 4v4 playlist that will have four game modes available: Occupy, Domination, Zone Control, and Escort. You can climb through seven different ranks, including Bronze, Silver, Gold, Ruby, Emerald, Diamond, and Legends, each of which (outside of Legends) will have 10 levels of progression, ensuring you're always getting matched up with enemies of your same skill level.

Season 1 of Ubisoft's free-to-play shooter XDefiant is out now — don't miss out on the opportunity to get exclusive rewards and more!

Artura Dawn

Artura Dawn

Staff Writer

Writes in her sleep, can you tell?

Share this: