> # Welcome to GameGrinOS v1.01 > # How can I help you? > # Press ` again to close
Hello… | Log in or sign up


Metal Gear is a series of action-adventure stealth video games, created by Hideo Kojima and developed and published by Konami. The first game, Metal Gear, was released in 1987 for the MSX2 home computer architecture. The player takes control of a special forces operative (usually Solid Snake or his father, Big Boss) who is assigned to find the titular superweapon "Metal Gear", a bipedal walking tank with the ability to launch nuclear weapons. Several sequels have been released for multiple consoles. The sequels expand the original game's plot adding new characters opposing and supporting Snake, while there have also been a few prequels exploring the origins of the Metal Gear and recurring characters.


Metal Gear (1987)
Metal Gear 2: Solid Snake (1990)


Metal Gear (1987)
Snake's Revenge (1990)

Solid series
- Console games

Metal Gear Solid (1998)
Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty (2001)
Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater (2004)
Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots (2008)
Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes (2014)
Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain (2015)

- Portable and handheld games

Metal Gear: Ghost Babel (2000)
Metal Gear Solid: Portable Ops (2006)
Metal Gear Solid Mobile (2008)
Metal Gear Solid Touch (2009)
Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker (2010)
Metal Gear Solid: Social Ops (2012)

- Expanded and supplemental versions

Metal Gear Solid: Integral (1999)
Metal Gear Solid: VR Missions (1999)
Metal Gear Solid 2: Substance (2002)
Metal Gear Solid 3: Subsistence (2005)
Metal Gear Solid: Portable Ops Plus (2007)
Metal Gear Solid: The Essential Collection (2008)
Metal Gear Online (2008)
Metal Gear Solid HD Collection (2011)
Metal Gear Solid: The Legacy Collection (2013)

- Remakes

Metal Gear Solid: The Twin Snakes (2004)
Metal Gear Arcade (2010)
Metal Gear Solid: Snake Eater 3D (2012)

Rising series

Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance (2013)

Acid series

Metal Gear Acid (2004)
Metal Gear Acid 2 (2005)